Posted by: Ken Brown | January 1, 2010

Happy 2010!

Last year’s resolutions were only a marginal success (for the record, I accomplished 2 and 3, almost accomplished 1 and 8, petered out on 6 and 7 by March, and never got around to 4 and 5–ouch!). In response, I could make this year’s easy and vague so I can be assured of checking them off (exercise more, be more thankful, don’t murder anyone), but where’s the fun in that? Better to have tried and failed than never to have tried at all, right? or is it Do or do not, there is no try? Anyway, on to the resolutions:

  1. Finish my thesis (for real this time). I’ve only got editing left, so I’ll have no excuse if this does not happen, and in any case PhD programs (assuming I get accepted into one) put a pretty hard deadline on this, so I’ve little choice. Which leads to:
  2. Get accepted into a PhD program. Not sure how much of this one is under my control, but it’s certainly my next biggest goal, and requires that I:
  3. Finish learning German. I’ll have to do this regardless, but since one of the programs I’ve applied to is in Germany, this may quickly become my top priority. I’d also like to:
  4. Publish at least one article. I’ve got two written that I think might be publishable, but I need to overcome my perfectionism and work up the courage to submit one. The question is: where?
  5. Read the three chapters of Greek a week.
  6. Read at least a few verses of Hebrew each day.
  7. Exercise more, be more thankful, and don’t murder anyone! 😉

Responses

  1. Yep, on that last one, the only love I can muster up for some people is to obey the commandment “Thou shalt not kill.”


Conversation is what makes blogging worthwhile. Leave a comment.

Categories