Posted by: Ken Brown | April 22, 2009

Alpha Inventions

Have you heard of Alpha Inventions? It’s like an RSS feeder with Attention Deficit Disorder–continually and more or less randomly flashing up new blogs every few seconds. I’m not sure how I ended up in their queue, but a while back I suddenly got thirty or forty hits from them in the course of a few minutes, and since then every few days I might get a quick burst of ten or twenty visitors. I’ve been pretty skeptical about the whole thing. The site is just bewildering to me, and amidst the mishmash of everything from tech sites to cooking blogs (and, occasionally, something worse), I rarely saw anything that interested me–and when I did it was gone in a flash! The thing seemed like little more than a means of artificially boosting your stats, since hits don’t mean much if the reader isn’t here long enough to actually read anything.

But out of curiosity, I stopped by again today and typed in my URL. I still found it bewildering but I got a few hits for the trouble, and what do you know but two of them were fellow Christian bloggers who actually came back long enough to read some posts and leave comments (thanks Barry and Damon!). Maybe there’s something to it after all.

So this is a test. Supposedly if you mention Alpha Inventions in a post they’ll send you more traffic (and hopefully, introduce me to more people like Barry and Damon). I’ll update if it works.

Update: Ack! When I went to bed last night I had gotten maybe 50 additional visits and a couple hundred pageviews, which is fairly comparable to what I normally get anyway (though a bit high on the pageviews). But then I woke up this morning to find 500 visits and 6,000 pageviews!?! Now I really feel like a cheater!! And from what I can tell, none of those visitors (who are still streaming in) are seeing anything more than this post–which is completely useless. Bah!

Update 2: Looks like the traffic finally dried up, but not before sending 1000 visits and 10,000 pageviews in a single day. Ridiculous and totally useless. Not one of them saw anything more than this worthless post, and now my stats pages are all screwed up. That’s what I get I guess…

Responses

  1. Thanks for playing guinea pig for the rest of us. If I find any other dubious traffic-boosting sites, I’ll be sure to tell you about them!

  2. Heh. It kinda felt like winning the lottery, and getting paid in monopoly money! 😉

  3. I imagine so! I think we could boost our traffic anytime by blogging on “10 reasons why Obama is the best President since Washington!” Or, “Why the Stimulus Package was way too small!” 🙂

  4. I’m sorry you found alphainventions.com in it’s alpha stages. lol. I’ve made many changes since first opening. Come by.


Conversation is what makes blogging worthwhile. Leave a comment.

Categories

