Posted by: Ken Brown | May 15, 2009

Limited Internet Access

Just a quick note: I expect to have limited internet access for the next week or so. My laptop power cord failed yesterday and it will take about a week to get the replacement (assuming the new one actually works, I suspect there might be a bigger problem). Thankfully. I was able to back everything up before the battery died!

Anyway, I do have other internet access (obviously), but it’s not convinient, so I don’t expect to spend large amounts of time on it. And to be honest, I’m kinda looking forward to a break. I dug out my old laptop (which does not have internet) to use on my thesis and was kinda nice not to have that distraction. Actually, I may use the thing more often. It’s got a smaller hard drive than my iPod nano and only 128 MB of RAM, but since it doesn’t have any of the bloat of Windows updates, anti-virus software, Java, Quicktime  or any of the other pests that the internet seems to multiply, it runs faster and more smoothly than my newer one.

So anyway, I may or may not post anything in the coming week (I’d really like to write about the LOST finale, but we’ll see), but I’m going to take this as an opportunity to focus on my thesis with fewer distractions. So have a great week everyone. Catch ya later!

UPDATE: Well doesn’t that just beat all! I had a nice, effective day yesterday. Finished the draft of the current chapter and got about half of it edited on the back-up computer, then I got a couple more hours of work done this morning, then suddenly and for no apparent reason the harddrive fails!! I’ve tried everything, and I can’t get it to boot up. Wonderful! Probably the most effective day of work I’ve had in the last month–all for nothing….

Conversation is what makes blogging worthwhile. Leave a comment.

Categories

