Posted by: Ken Brown | January 31, 2010

How Are Your Resolutions Coming?

If you’re like me, your discipline is probably already slipping, so why wait a whole ‘nother year to get back on track? So far, I’m not doing too badly, but “not too badly” can become “not too well” and then “not good at all” rather quickly without accountability, so here goes:

  1. Finish my thesis (for real this time). I’m making great progress on this (thanks in part to Pomodoro), and am on track to defend in April (fingers crossed).
  2. Get accepted into a PhD program. Ask me again next week. πŸ˜‰
  3. Finish learning German. I’m working on it, better than I was in December–still a long way to go though.
  4. Publish at least one article. I’ll worry about that after I finish my thesis.
  5. Read the three chapters of Greek a week. I’ve pretty much maintained this. I’ve read 10 chapters of Matthew plus at least 4 or 5 other chapters from John, Mark and Paul.
  6. Read at least a few verses of Hebrew each day. I made this one too easy perhaps. I’ve read a few Psalms, the first three chapters of Job and some Proverbs.
  7. Exercise more, be more thankful, and don’t murder anyone! Yes! πŸ™‚

So how are your resolutions coming? I’m gonna ask again next month, so if you’ve already fallen off the wagon, now’s your chance to climb back on.

Responses

  1. Finish learning German

    Can you finish learning a second language?

    • That’s a great point!

  2. I lost site of my resolutions, but I’m going to get back on track with the help of my Blogs. Hopefully I can keep it that way!

  3. I’m a bit stuck with mine: I resolved not to make any New Year’s resolutions, which meant I broke it as soon as I made it. However, the longer I go through the year without making one, I’m actually keeping it. I guess that’s what I get for being a smart-alec about these kinds of traditions.

  4. I’ve never in my life *made* a New Year’s resolution.

  5. LOL, I should ask these sorts of questions more often!

  6. […] Are Your Resolutions Coming? 2 I said I’d ask again, so how how are you doing after another […]


Conversation is what makes blogging worthwhile. Leave a comment.

Categories

