Posted by: Ken Brown | May 2, 2010

An Outdoor Faith

I subscribed to Relevant a few months back and I’ve really been enjoying it so far. The most recent issue arrived this week and the cover story is on Edward “Bear” Grylls, star of that Discovery Channel hit Man vs. Wild. I’ve never watched the show, but I’m curious to do so now. The guy has an great story and a simple but deep faith (reminds me a bit of Wendell Berry). Here are a few good lines from the article:

[Faith is] about having a backbone run through you from the Person who made you. It’s about being able to climb the highest mountains in the world with the Person who made them….

Jesus never said, “I’ve come so you can feel smart and proper and smiley and religious”… [Faith] is about finding life and joy and peace… about being held, about being forgiven. It’s about finding joy and finding home.

Responses

  1. I have enjoyed watching Bear Grylls for years now. When I learned of his faith, I was even more compelled to watch his show. I mean really–how cool is the name Bear Grylls?!? 🙂


Conversation is what makes blogging worthwhile. Leave a comment.

Categories

